Three Nations Under One Groove 2020 | Three Split-Screen Videos!

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Three nations. Three jazz bands. Three incredible performances!

Three Nations Under One Groove is a collaboration between the National Youth Jazz Orchestra (NYJO), Germany’s BuJazzO and the NJJO from Holland. Three exciting jazz ensembles, 85 of Europe’s top emerging jazz musicians, and now, three multi-screen video performance for you to enjoy!

The three bands have been collaborating since 2014, with this years’ project taking on a very 2020 spin due to the ongoing social distancing guidelines. For the last outing in April 2018, the three orchestras met up for five days of collaborative music-making, which featured a UK tour plus an additional European leg for good measure. In 2020? things are a little bit different!

Watch the video below to get a small insight into the approach to this years Three Nations, which was a completely online affair!

One of the most exciting aspects of this years programme came when each of the three Artistic Directors – Mark Armstrong (NYJO), Martin Fondse (NJJO) and Niels Klein (BuJazzO) – presented the group with an original composition which was then practised, performed and recorded amongst the rest of the weeks worth of online activities.

Below you can enjoy each of the three performances, which were released over three weeks shortly after Three Nations 2020 was brought to a close.

Video #1 | “Coastbound” (Composed by Mark Armstrong)

“Coastbound” Composed by Mark Armstrong (Video: Tom Gimson, Audio: Winston Rollins)

Video #2 | “Three Nations Under One Groove” (Composed by Niels Klein)

“Three Nations Under One Groove” Composed by Niels Klein (Video: Hunderteins GmbH Sound: Nico Raschke)

Video #3 | “White Russians” (Composed by Martin Fondse)

Thanks to everyone involved in making this very unique Three Nations project such a success! Despite all of the issues that 2020 has presented, it was a really positive experience to see so many people come together and find new ways to connect and create.

We’ll see you next time!

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit