The Change – NYJO’s new album – out now!

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
A VPN is an essential component of IT security, whether you’re just starting a business or are already up and running. Most business interactions and transactions happen online and VPN

The Change – NYJO’s new album – out now!The Change – the latest album from NYJO, featuring guest appearances by inspirational saxophonist/composer Tim Garland and the mighty talent of drummer Mark Mondesir – was released on 24th September 2012, to critical acclaim.

The album – including many of the tracks performed in the band’s massively successful BBC Proms concert at The Royal Albert Hall on Friday 10 August 2012 – is the first to be recorded under new Music & Artistic Director Mark Armstrong.

The Change sees NYJO looking forward artistically, with new connections and directions, as well as celebrating its 47-year history with music that respects the great legacy of the big band sound. The recording also spotlights a particularly strong team of jazz soloists and presents a colourful variety of grooves and styles.

The chosen tracks demonstrate the dynamic and evolutionary impact the players themselves bring to the band with their own compositions and arrangements. They also draw from the enormous canon of NYJO originals while straddling the distinctive sound of the Great American Songbook. Equally significantly, the album pays homage to the wealth of incredible talent that NYJO has been privileged to have commissioned, worked with and been supported by in recent years.

The full track listing is:

01 LADY BE GOOD (George Gershwin, arr. Mark Armstrong) 7.00

02 HUSH (Nikki Iles) 8.00

03 RETURN FLIGHT (Tom Stone) 7.00

04 CARAVAN (Duke Ellington/Juan Tizol, arr. Callum Au) 7.00

05 BARBARA (Julian Joseph) 8.00

06 AGRO ALEGRÍA (Tim Garland) 8.00

07 ‘ROUND MIDNIGHT (Thelonius Monk/Cootie Williams, arr. Mark Armstrong) 5.00


09 THE CHANGE (Chris Whiter) 7.00

10 SUMMER SUNDAYS (Steve Grey/Christine Denmead/Bill Ashton, arr. Tommy Laurence) 6.00

11 FEELING GOOD (Anthony Newley/Lesley Bricusse, arr. Mark Armstrong) 5.00


What the critics say about The Change:

“…this was bound to be a noteworthy album, but the playing, both solo and ensemble, makes it outstanding by any standards.” Dave Gelly, The Observer

“Here’s a snapshot of a British institution in transition…there’s no shortage of ambition on display…Caravan swings out with venom…and Lady Be Good overflows with energy.” Clive Davis, The Sunday Times

“The National Youth Jazz Orchestra is undergoing an artistic renaissance.” Roger Thomas, BBC Music Magazine, 4 stars


The Change – NYJO’s new album – out now!The Change – NYJO’s new album – out now!

The Change is available to buy in CD form either from the ‘Shop’ section of the NYJO website, or online from Amazon or It is also available from any good CD stockists.

The Change – NYJO’s new album – out now!

The Change – NYJO’s new album – out now!Digital downloads of the album or individual tracks are available on iTunes and from Amazon MP3.

Amazon, the Amazon logo and are registered trademarks of Amazon EU SARL or its affiliates.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit