NYJO rehearsed and ready to roll for Ronnie Scott's residency 3-5 January

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
A VPN is an essential component of IT security, whether you’re just starting a business or are already up and running. Most business interactions and transactions happen online and VPN

NYJO rehearsed and ready to roll for Ronnie Scott's residency 3-5 JanuaryTwenty four of the UKs finest young jazz musicians will be appearing at Ronnie Scott’s next year as NYJO takes up its regular January residency at the club, from 3-5 January. Directed by the dynamic presence of Mark Armstrong and Bill Ashton OBE, NYJO will play two sets of music to appeal to all lovers of good music.

The band will be performing 5 new commissions as the ‘5445’ series in the first set.

The ‘5445’ series is largely funded by the PRS for Music Foundation and was commissioned to celebrate the 45th Anniversary of NYJO. Five pieces of new music were written by Julian Arguelles, Tim Garland, Mike Gibbs, Nikki Iles and Jason Yarde. The band rehearsed with each of the composers and they can’t wait to play the new work in public for the first time at Ronnie’s on 3rd January.

New commissions:

Julian Arguelles           Fort Worth

Tim Garland                Dawn before Dark before Dawn

Mike Gibbs                  In the Scheme of Things

Nikki Iles                      Hush

Jason Yarde                Sub Hub Hubbub

The second set will feature Mark Armstrong’s ‘Solstice Suite’ and/or a selection of NYJO favourites written and arranged by previous and current members of the band.

Tickets can be purchased direct from Ronnie Scott’s.

As a special discount, 20% off is available for the 4 January if customers mention NYJO discount before booking.

The band personnel:

Callum Au (Trombone 1)

Alex Paxton (Trombone 2)

Peter Whitehouse (Trombone 3)

Ross Anderson (Trombone 4)

Barry Clements (Bass Trombone )

Anna Drysdale (French Horn)

Tom Stone (Tenor 1)

Nadim Teimoori (Tenor 2)

Lucas Dodd (Alto 1);

Simon Marsh (Alto 2)

Ben Mallinder (Baritone Sax)

Helen Wilson (Flute);

Tom Walsh (Trumpet 1)

Rob Greenwood (Trumpet 2)

Mark Perry (Trumpet 3)

Laura Jurd (Trumpet 4)

Reuben Fowler (Trumpet 5)

Chris Eldred (Piano)

Dave Elliott (Percussion)

Rob Luft (Guitar)

Sandy Suchodolski (Bass)

Scott Chapman (Drums)

Emma Smith (voice)

Kwabena Adjepong (voice)

Music Directors

Mark Armstrong

Bill Ashton OBE


Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit