Alexandra Ridout Receives “Best Newcomer” Nomination!

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Alexandra Ridout receives "Best Newcomer" nomination for Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2020

As a member of both the Jazz Orchestra and Jazz Messenger during her time with NYJO, Alexandra showcased her talent as a unique trumpeter with a bright future from the very beginning.

Alex has been playing the trumpet since she was only nine years old. After gaining a grade 8 at 13 and a diploma by 16, her gifts as a musician have taken her to the Royal Academy of Music (London) and the Brubeck Institute in Stockton, California.

The Parliamentary Awards began in 2005 to celebrate the vibrancy, diversity and talent of the jazz scene throughout the UK. Following a public vote online, the shortlist was then voted upon by a selection panel that represented a broad cross-section of interests and backgrounds. The winners, chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), are due to be announced at 8:30pm on Tuesday 30th June 2020.

“These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 15th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honours the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are delighted to host another ceremony at Pizza Express Live and we are extremely grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.”

John Spellar MP, Co-Chair of APPJAG
Alexandra performing ‘Yesterdays’ by Jerome Kern in the BBC Young Musician Jazz Award 2016 Finals

Alex is no stranger to awards, having won the BBC Young Musician Jazz Award in 2016 and a “Rising Star” British Jazz Award in 2018. Two years on and it’s yet another nomination. This time a Parliamentary Jazz Award in the “Best Newcomer” category, alongside another future star of the UK jazz scene and fellow NYJO Alumnus, vocalist Luca Manning.

The full list of nominations can be found below:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year
Georgia Mancio
Cherise Adams-Burnett
Liane Carroll

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year
Sarah Tandy
Rob Luft
Liam Noble
Nubya Garcia

Jazz Album of the Year
Seed Ensemble ‘Driftglass’
Yazz Ahmed ‘Polyhymnia’
Kate Williams Four Plus Three meets Georgia Mancio ‘Finding Home’

Jazz Ensemble of the Year
Byron Wallen’s ‘Four Corners’
Seed Ensemble
Dave/O’Higgins/Rob Luft Quartet
Nikki Iles Big Band

Jazz Newcomer of the Year
Luca Manning
Rosina Bullen
Alexandra Ridout

Jazz Venue of the Year
Colchester Arts Centre Jazz Club
PizzaExpress Jazz Club
606 Club

Jazz Media Award
Jazzwise Magazine
Corey Mwamba “Freeness”
LondonJazz News
Jazz Views

Jazz Education Award
UK Summer School
Jon Eno
Nick Smart

Services to Jazz Award
Steve Rubie
Blow The Fuse
Mike Westbrook

Congratulations to both Alex and Luca for their nominations in the Best Newcomer category of this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards.  It’s great to see two recent members of NYJO continuing to go from strength to strength.  We’re very proud of them both and wish them the best of luck!

Roger Wilson, Head of Professional Development
Alexandra Ridout Receives “Best Newcomer” Nomination!

Alexandra performs around the country in festivals, theatres and all major Jazz clubs with ‘The Alexandra Ridout Quintet’ her own band of talented young jazz musicians.

Alexandra is also a member of many other bands/ensembles with a growing discography of interesting and varied work. To learn more you can check out Alex’s website here!

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit